Transhumanist Avatars

Terasem Colloquium in Second Life, December 10 – Speakers

The 2015 edition of the Terasem Annual Colloquium on the Law of Futuristic Persons, themed “Moral and Legal Imperatives for Sentient AI” will take place in Second Life – Terasem sim – on December 10. This is a can’t miss event with top class speakers! The confirmed speakers are:

John Havens,
Writer for Mashable, The Guardian, and Slate,
Author of Heartificial Intelligence.

Zoltan Istvan [Abstract],
Writer and transhumanist politician,
Author of The Transhumanist Wager.

Susan Schneider [Abstract],
Associate Professor, Philosophy & Cognitive Science Program, University of Connecticut,
Yale Interdisciplinary Institute For Bioethics, Yale University,
Fellow, Center of Theological Inquiry, Princeton,
Author, The Language of Thought – A New Philosophical Direction,
Editor, The Blackwell Companion to Consciousness,
Editor, Science Fiction and Philosophy: From Time Travel to Superintelligence.

Stefano Vaj, National Secretary, Italian Transhumanist Association,
Professor of New Technologies Law, Padua University, Italy,
Author of Biopolitica. Il nuovo paradigma
[English translation].

David Wood,
Secretary and Board Member of Humanity+,
Chair of London Futurists,
Editor of Anticipating 2025,
Editor of Anticipating Tomorrow’s Politics.


The 2015 Colloquium will be held on Thursday, December 10, 2015, 10AM – 1PM PST / 1PM – 4PM EST / 6PM – 9PM GMT. Location: Terasem, Second Life. [SLURL – click here to teleport to Terasem].

We will post frequent updates with more detailed information, help for newcomers to Second Life, final speakers list, schedule, abstracts, profiles and interviews with the speakers. I look forward to seeing you in Second Life on December 10, and I am available for live help.