28 December 2013 Online Discussion Group of the Mormon Transhumanist Association

The December 2013 online discussion group of the Mormon Transhumanist Association [MTA] will be on Saturday, December 28, at 10:30am mountain time (9:30am PST, 12:30pm EST, 5:30pm UK, 6:30pm EU), in Google+ Hangouts.

If you have already participated in an association online discussion group, you know what to do. Otherwise, please join Google+ and the Mormon Transhumanist Association community on Google+, add Giulio Prisco and Lincoln Cannon to a circle, and let us know that you wish to participate so we can invite you.

We will discuss:

The proposed launch of a “Transfigurist Network” as an umbrella organization to coordinate the work of different religious transhumanist associations, such as the MTA and the CTA [(Christian Transhumanist Association)]. The term “transfigurism” denotes advocacy for change in form, and alludes to sacred stories from many religious traditions. This meeting will analyze the recent online discussions and plan the following steps.

See “Discussion: a ‘Transfigurist Network’ for religious transhumanists” for a video of last month’s online discussion and an outline of the main arguments. The discussion continued on the MTA and CTA mailing lists.

This will be, I believe, an important discussion. Please try to join of you can, and participate in the discussion. Note that viewers of the live broadcast on Google+ (URL to be announced before the meeting) will be able to post comment and ask questions, which the participants will see in realtime.